Scattering Books Like Seeds

In my mind, a publisher distributing books is like a farmer broadcasting seeds. We send them out in every direction, hoping they fall on ready, canstockphoto2973557-sowerprepared soil that will receive the message and take it to heart.

This wintry time of year, seeds lie dormant in the ground waiting, sealed. When days grow longer and warmer, the seeds will awaken, sprout and eventually produce leaves and fruit.

Same with books. You may buy a book or be given one, but the season of your life isn’t right yet. The book sits on a shelf, or under a pile of other volumes—or a list of Kindle files—you plan to read sometime. Then one day you pick it up, or click it open, and start reading; and you marvel that these words are exactly what you need at this time of your life.

Casting/sowing seeds or books takes faith. A Christian publisher must believe that these books, which contain kernels of life-giving truth, will be carried by the Wind of the Holy Spirit. And when prepared personal soil opens to them, we pray that their message will be watered by the Living Water. The resulting fruit will be minds and hearts growing and encouraged to flourish in hope, wholeness, spiritual insights, and joy.

So I choose the mindset of an under-gardener. My Father is the Gardener. By his grace I’ll do my part. His is the overall plan, purpose and power. The resulting fruit cannot be fully seen or measured this side of Heaven.

Then, how can we fail? Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must lick my finger and hold it to the wind.

  4 comments for “Scattering Books Like Seeds

  1. January 31, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    Well said, Catherine. Thanks for your wisdom and your vision.

    Like

    • February 1, 2014 at 11:29 am

      And I’m thankful, Carol, that your book is one of the faith-filled seeds we’re scattering.

      Like

  2. February 1, 2014 at 1:57 am

    This is beautiful. It reminds me of how many years ago when I started my recovery journey, I picked up a copy of “Boundaries” by Drs. Cloud and Townsend. About a month later, I found a another copy of the same book buried in a stack of books I already had. I bought it years earlier but never read it. Funny how I knew I needed it back then. It is one of my favorite books.

    Like

    • February 1, 2014 at 11:35 am

      Thanks, Ardis. Yes, there are so many ways the Lord can encourage and enlighten and sharpen us with books at each stage of our lives. I’m sure He’ll use your story to help others also.

      Like

Leave your comment here!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: